A Reason for Hope

I’ve been in a slump.

The kind where I don’t feel like doing anything. Dishes. Laundry. Organizing. Math.

I just don’t want to do it. I do the same things over and over and over again, and sometimes it gets downright dull.

Have you ever felt like that?

I’m not really sure what causes us to fall into these depressions. Sometimes it’s stress, or illness. Sometimes it’s trauma. Sometimes I think some of us are just drawn that way, more susceptible than others to lose the joy we want to feel.

I know women who seem to live in slumps. For me the ennui wears off and something seems to call me out and make me want to start living again, but for some women it seems that never happens. How do we get the joy back? How do we lift ourselves out of it and get excited for the next new day?

Peter says, in his first letter, “Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.” He says this so matter-of-fact, as though the issue were preparing the answer, not actually living out the daily hope.

Peter is right. The moment Christ replaced my self with His he placed a hope in me that I couldn’t remove if I tried. It’s there, inside, waiting to bring light when I feel like things are dark. The problem is that I ignore that hope. I stuff it down and forget about it. I focus on the things I can’t do, or don’t have, or wish I was. I stop listening to the hope that says “I can do all things”.

I’m going to make a confession. I don’t always, everyday, love being a stay at home mom. I don’t always relish homeschooling. Sometimes it’s a real drag. Sometimes I still fantasize about what I’ll be when I grow up. I’m not always completely in love with what I’m doing right now, because, let’s face it, what I’m doing right now is usually pretty mundane.

But just because I don’t love it, that doesn’t mean it isn’t worthy of love. Just because I don’t find it exciting doesn’t mean it isn’t. There really is joy in all this. I just have to open up to the hope that’s already inside and find it. When Peter talked about our hope, he spoke of it being so obvious that people would ask for the reason behind it. That’s powerful, and it’s accessible to us!

Today I stood at my living room window and watched it snow, and it was beautiful. I mean really, breathtakingly beautiful. So I took several minutes to just look. The rest of my day felt lifted, because I took time for joy.

There is something in your life that is beautiful. Something that will bring joy, if you’ll stop to look at it and revel in it. And if there isn’t, than get up and make something. Take a walk. Breathe fresh air. Cook. Create something. Read a book. To your kids. Listen to music. Laugh. Laugh until you cry. Be ALIVE.

The Bible tells us that joy comes in the morning. Sometimes, I think, it takes several mornings. But the hope within us helps us keeping going until we find it.

Blessings,

Brieana

6 thoughts on “A Reason for Hope

  1. Brieana, this is so beautiful and honest. All too often we project that we have it all together. I feel like this really hurts the Body. Like Paul, we should boast in our weaknesses! Why? Because it’s through those weaknesses that HE is made strong…and it gives others hope that if He can use others in their troubled times, then surely He can use ME! He wants us to be transparent about our weaknesses rather than walking around with fake facades. Thank you for sharing! ❤

    1. Thanks Traci. I debated posting this because I do want to have it all together, but you are so right. Pretending doesn’t help anybody! And it’s amazing what a little honesty can do for the soul. 🙂 I feel so encouraged by everyone who has commented here and on FB. You all are awesome!

  2. Thank you so much for this Brieana! What a blessing you are to so many around you. I appreciate this post so much! Thank you for lifting my spirits and refocusing my attention!! Hugs!

  3. Love this!! It’s so true, that sometimes we get caught up in the hustle and bustle that we lose us, lose what life is about. Sometimes we need a remote with a BIG “pause” button. I often need a refresher, a moment to myself to smell my lifes little blessings. Then I can happily jump back into mommy,taxi, wifey, friend and everything else mode! Miss ya friend!

What do you think?

