Joy and Laundry

Having a large family is a lot of things. It’s chaotic, yes, but also peaceful. It’s loud and sometimes quiet. It is very messy but.. okay, it’s very messy. I often find that people who ask me about raising six kids have a polarizing idea about what it is – it must be either ethereally joyful or insane. The answer is.. yes!

And since a picture is worth a thousand words, I thought I’d snap some and share with you what life in a family of 8 is like. All these pictures were taken between 4 and 5 on Thursday afternoon with no staging. I promise!

 

photo 1

Coffee. My best friend.

photo 2

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

Yes, it’s 4:30pm and lunch is still on the table.

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

photo 5

I would be ashamed, but this is actually pretty good for us.

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 4

photo 5

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

photo 3

Teenagers do not like their photos taken. Unless they are selfies.

 photo 3

And, in an effort at brutal honesty, one of me. Today was a no-makeup, no shower day. But it isn’t always like this!

Also, you people who take selfies and post them on the internet? I thought you were silly, but you are BRAVE. I think I took ten of these before I got one I was okay with.

I look so weird! And I like my face!

So go forth, mama, and know that your life and your house and your face are lovely. Even if there are dishes in the sink.

What do you think?

