What the Holy Spirit Does

This is the difference between six-years-ago me, and today me.

Tonight was my son’s 12th birthday party. I assumed five nearly-teenaged boys would eat a lot of pizza, so I ordered a lot of pizza, but they didn’t. I can’t stand the way leftover pizza makes my fridge smell so I asked my husband to take it down to the garage fridge. He said he would.

Two hours later we all ate cake and ice cream and soda, and the pizza was still on the counter, so I asked him again. He said he would.

Two hours later he left to take our daughter to a sleepover and the pizza was still on the counter, so I asked him again. He said he would.

A few minutes after he left, I walked into the kitchen to find.. pizzas on the counter. Six-years-ago me would have had a knock-down, drag-out fight in my mind and started nursing a bitterness that would have lasted until next week. I would have taken the pizzas to the fridge myself, but I would have made sure my man knew about it when he got home.

Today me is different. Not only did I not do those things, I had no desire to. I felt nothing but compassion. He’s been working hard; he’s tired. Everyone forgets things sometimes. I genuinely didn’t care.

I put the pizzas in the fridge. NBD.

That’s what the Holy Spirit does.

What do you think?

